4th October 2019

Scotland’s first Aloft branded hotel, situated in The Event Complex Aberdeen, has won Best New Hotel at The Hotel Awards Scotland 2019.

Aloft Aberdeen TECA scooped the accolade at the ceremony at Glasgow’s Marriott Hotel on Tuesday 1 October.

In its first year, the awards aim to celebrate the best within the Scottish hotel sector.

They acknowledged the true value of hotels that lie within the heart of Scotland’s local communities and recognised the importance of hotels, and how they help drive tourism by offering visitors exceptional hospitality and a unique Scottish experience.

Aloft Aberdeen TECA, which is operated by the UK’s leading independent hotel management company, RBH, opened its doors in August. The 150-bedroom hotel is the first design of its kind in the city – and Scotland – and is aimed at the next generation of travellers, offering tech-forward amenities, urban-style interiors and live music.

Mark Leyland, General Manager of Aloft Aberdeen TECA, said:

Having opened our doors to guests less than two months ago, we were delighted to be recognised at the inaugural Hotel Awards Scotland, and to come top in our category is fantastic.

This award is a brilliant recognition for the team at Aloft Aberdeen TECA, all of whom played integral roles from pre-launch to opening our doors to the public. It really is testament to their commitment and hard work. Congratulations to everyone involved, I’m excited to see what’s to come for the hotel and our team.”

A spokesperson for The Hotel Awards Scotland 2019 said:

These awards have just celebrated their first year and are well on their way to becoming a staple event in the country’s business calendar. The event provided an excellent platform for networking and marketing for all hoteliers present to celebrate each other’s achievements within the hotel sector.

Many of the finalists have spent years dedicated to the industry and we are delighted that their efforts have been recognised and celebrated. We would like to thank the public for their overwhelming support and congratulate the winners for their huge achievements at the ceremony.”